Math Project Idea #1 MATH RHYTHM (in Filipino, Himig Sipnayan)

*MATH + MUSIC= MATH RHYTHM

I love integrating other areas in Math especially Music and Arts in doing Creative Math Projects. I started Himig Sipnayan (Math Rhythm) Project in Philadelphia School  in the Philippines last 2001. My students composed and performed their Math songs live and I am so proud of them…my only regret is that I wasn’t able to capture those moments because we don’t have a video camera (it was so expensive back then). Now, I am teaching high school Math in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA and I gave this as their 4th quarter project so I composed and recorded this song as a sample. I know that they will produce great songs and I am excited the result of their Math Rhythm Project. Hope you enjoy this song and I encourage you especially the Math teachers to be more creative in teaching Math. Make it fun and memorable for your students. By the way, this project needs ample time usually  I give my students the overview of the project at least 30 days before the presentation day (beginning of the quarter) . The Criteria for grading is Content 40%, Creativity(Presentation:live or recorded) 30% and Cooperation (Teamwork & Organization) 30%.  Here’s the lyrics of the Math song I composed.

Pythagorean Theorem (in the tune of Rolling in the deep)

There’s a question starting in my mind

How to find missing angle in right triangle

Finally I start listening in class

and I learn it was easy, use the formula.

There are 3 sides in right triangle

Side A, B and C and C is hypotenuse

It’s the longest side between A and B

Opposite the right angle. 90 degree

*The notes  in my class reminds me of Math

They keep me thinking that I really know it all

The notes in my class they help me solve it

I can’t help singing

Chorus: Pythagorean theorem

A squared plus B squared

Is equal c squared and add

Get the square root, it’s the last

Baby I have reminder for you

If missing leg is A or B

Subtract it from C

Still do exponents,add and square root

That’s the way you do it,

Pythagorean theorem

*The notes  in my class reminds me of Math

They keep me thinking that I really know it all

The notes in my class they help me solve it

I can’t help singing

Chorus: Pythagorean theorem

A squared plus B squared

Is equal c squared and add

Get the square root, it’s the last

Put your heart in everything you do

Count your blessings and focus more

Turn your book, study and solve

Practice, be patient you will learn it all

 

It all, it all, it all

(Pythagorean Theorem)

 

*Chorus: Pythagorean theorem

A squared plus B squared

Is equal c squared and add

Get the square root, it’s the last

Leave a Reply

